5G Spectrum Policy

Chairperson : Dr. Abhay Karandikar, Director, IIT Kanpur



Task Force Report


Mr. Bharat Bhatia, President ITU-APT Foundation of India 
Mr. Parag Kar, Vice President, Qualcomm  
Mr. Ashutosh Pandey, DDG (Radio), TEC, DoT  
Mr. R.B. Prasad, JWA, WPC, DoT  
Mr. Rajiv Sinha, DDG(NT), DoT  
Mr. Kishore Babu Y.G.S.C.,DDG (Policy), DoT  
Mr. L.D. Meghwal, WPC, DoT  


1. Recommend the frequency bands to be selected for 5G in India.

2. Identify bands which will need coexistence studies before finlaization, taking into acount coexistaence studies already completed or underway in other countries or in ITU

3. Identify bands that are needed for experimental licenses

4. Recommend the time frame for phased release of these Frequency Bands

5. Recommend initial policy guideleines for each band in terms of:
    a. licensed or unlicensed  
    b. shared or licensed shared access  
    c. indoor or outdoor  
    d. Access or backhaul  
    e. shared with satellites or exclusive  
    f. basic technical rules for each band including Channelization, Frequency/Time division (FDD/TDD) duplexing allocation, FDD pairing, etc.  

Task force report       View