Action Plan for Participation in Global Standards and Forums



Chairperson : Prof. Bhaskar Ramamurthi, bhaskar@iitm.ac.in



Members

Scope

Objectives

Task Force Report


Members

Abhay Karandikar, karandi@ee.iitb.ac.in 
Pamela Kumar, dg@tsdsi.org  
B.K. Badola, ddgstd.tec@gov.in  
V Raghunanthan, ddgir-dot@nic.in  
Jitendra Singh, jitendra@qti.qualcomm.com  
Vipin Tyagi, vipin@cdot.in  
AK Mittal, akmittal@tsdsi.org  
Mr. Bharat Bhatia, bharat.bhatia@motorolasolutions.com  
Dinesh Chand Sharma, dinesh.chand.sharma@eustandards.in  
Babu Narayanan, babunkj@cewit.org.in  
U.K. Nandwani, dgstqc@meity.gov.in, 
R. Pitchiah, pitchiah@meity.gov.in,  


Objectives

The objectives of this task force are: :

(i) Identify the impediments that stand in the way of larger participation by teams from India in global standardization forums
(ii) Recommend measures for increasing such participation in a manner that leads to substantial contributions from India to 5G and related standards, particularly those that address specific Indian needs and use cases. Such contributions will typically embed standards-essential patents (SEPs) in them.

 


Scope

This task force is focused on:

1) Identifying the benefits accruing from participation from India in global telecom standards forums
2) The current Indian strategy on standards development
3) Summarizing the current levels of participation in global telecom standards forums, particularly those related to 5G
4) Impediments to increased participation in such forums
5) Recommendations to address these impediments and targets to be achieved over the next 4 years



Task force report       View